The Beginning

It’s been 6 long, cold blistering months for this girl. The Metra and I, have finally come to a mutual understanding of one another.

Metra Survival Guide

Rule #1. NEVER get on the Metra empty handed. And when I say empty handed I mean it in a couple different ways. You’re going to need your bare necessities. Some..entertainment. Especially for a girl like me, who is on the Metra for a little over an hour and 20 minutes at a time. (SERIOUSLY). metraWhat I usually like to keep on deck: a cup of coffee, a Chicago Tribune, an IPOD/Pandora, H20, a book, and a light snack. With that being said..yes it is unnecessary to have every single item every ride, but it can be the difference between a ride to your doom, or your destination. So pick your poison.

If you aren’t a coffee drinker, might I suggest some caffeinated tea! Some personal favorites; vanilla chai, a black awake tea, green, mango, or raspberry. YUM.

If you aren’t a fan of reading the paper. Grab a magazine, or a puzzle book. If those aren’t your cup of tea either than take advantage of our 21st century technology! There’s only like 1000 apps you can download right on your phone. Examples of free APPS- The Redeye, NFL Mobile, Shortlist Magazine, Stylist Magazine, AUX Magazine, Popular Science, ABC News, CBS Sports, ESPN, NHL, NBA, and honestly I could go all day. You like it, there’s an app. Including book apps and magazines. So no excuses.

As far as music goes. Being a college student, who commutes everyday to the City, I’m pinching pennies. When I don’t have my IPOD, Pandora is my best friend. YES..I hate Pandora commercials, but hey! The best things in life are free. So we’ll take it! Otherwise there’s programs on your phone that will allow you to download music. There you go.

HEY GIRLYS! I’ve really been into this book series. Makes my commuting time FLY! The author is Catherine Clark.

picture latte icing

When it comes to snacking on the train keep it light. Feeling salty? Trail mix is always good. Sweet? Try fruit. Any kind! Apples, bananas, strawberries, cuties (small oranges), etc. I”m also a big fan of dried cherries. Delicious, and not a mess. Pea Pods are easy to pack too just throw them in a sandwich bag! Speaking of sandwiches you can’t go wrong with a ham and cheese, or PB&J. Fast and simple.

Leave a Reply

